(778) 751-8127

What is OHSAS 18001 Certification?

by | Sep 9, 2023

What is the OHSAS1 8001 standard? In order to obtain OHSAS 18001 (obtaining OHSAS 18001 – issuing OHSAS 18001), Isosystem is ready to provide services to companies and organizations.

What is the OHSAS18001 standard?

The OHSAS 18001 standard is also called the occupational health and safety management standard, a standard that provides requirements for organizations that want to keep the safety of their employees as high as possible. This standard is very similar to the ISO 14001 standard in terms of text and requirements. Instead of environmental requirements, occupational health and safety requirements are given.

The 18001 standard was not developed by the ISO international organization, and therefore the term ISO should not be used next to it, this standard is called OHSAS 18001 (short for Occupational Health and Safety Assessment series).

What are the benefits of OHSAS 18001?

Improving the image and reputation of companies among shareholders, customers and the general public

Adopting the best international practices in relation to risk management

Ensuring the health and well-being of employees, subcontractors and the public

Minimizing employers’ liability by adopting proactive controls

Ensuring awareness and compliance with laws

Reducing or eliminating the risks of the workplace, the rate of accidents and incidents

Increasing employee motivation by providing a safer workplace

Application of OHSAS18001 standard

OHSAS18001 occupational health and safety management standard has requirements that are developed with the aim of reducing risk in organizations. These requirements, which are planned and written for the occupational health and safety management system, if implemented in organizations, can improve the organization’s performance through risk control. The scope of application of this standard depends on factors such as the occupational health and safety policy, the nature and conditions in which it operates, and the risks and complexity of these activities. OHSAS 18001 aims to refer to occupational health and safety issues and not to product and service safety.

History of the OHSAS18001 standard

Due to the lack of an international standard regarding occupational health and safety, a committee was formed in 1998 under the supervision and leadership of the British Standards Institute (BSI).

This committee, in cooperation with English certification companies, started developing a standard in the field of occupational health and safety.

The first version of the OHSAS 18001 standard was presented in 1999.

The last edition is related to 2007.

In recent years, the ISO international organization has felt the lack of this standard and started to develop this standard, and a standard called ISO 45001 is going to be presented. To be published in 2017.

OHSAS18001 part of the IMS system

The OHSAS 18001 standard, like ISO 9001 and ISO 14001, is a popular general standard, and all organizations, regardless of their size, service or production, can implement it and create a safe work environment for their personnel.

It is recommended to companies and organizations, if possible and if there are financial and economic conditions, to obtain the IMS standard certificate set, which includes OHSAS 18001, ISO 9001, 2015 edition, and ISO 14001, 2015 edition.

What businesses can implement OHSAS 18001?

OHSAS 18001 has been implemented in a wide range of industries. The health and safety standard can benefit any organization that decides to implement it. The purpose of the management system is to focus on the employees and ensure the implementation of the best practices. Effective implementation of standard outcomes in a safer work environment for your workforce, reduces risk.


Obtaining OHSAS 18001 – issuing OHSAS 18001 – receiving OHSAS 18011

In order to obtain OHSAS 18001 (obtaining OHSAS 18001 – issuing OHSAS 18001), you can apply through Isosystem. ISOSYSTEM is the best center for obtaining OHSAS 18001 (obtaining OHSAS 18001 – issuing OHSAS 18001) in the country with the official license of the Organization of Industry, Mining and Trade.

To obtain OHSAS 18001 (obtain OHSAS 18001 – issue OHSAS 18001) proceed through the certificate request link on this page. You can also quickly register your request to obtain OHSAS 18001 (obtain OHSAS 18001 – issue OHSAS 18001) through this link. do.

What is ISO 45001?

ISO 45001 is the ISO standard for occupational health and safety and improves the level of safety and productivity in the workplace. Emphasizing management commitment, worker participation and risk control, this standard prevents work-related injuries, illnesses and casualties by determining the requirements of an occupational health and safety management system.

This new standard, which replaced OHSAS 18001, follows the approach of other management systems such as ISO 14001 and ISO 90001.

OHSAS 18001 vs. ISO 45001

To prevent and limit work accidents in the workplace, you can get the occupational health and safety management standard certificate. Two famous standards in this field are ISO 45001 and OHSAS 18001, but what is the difference between these two standards?

ISO 45001 was designed to replace OHSAS 18001. In fact, organizations that already received OHSAS 18001 certification had until the end of March 2021 to upgrade to ISO 45001. Businesses that don’t replace their certification actually lose their valid occupational health and safety management system and miss out on its benefits.

Key differences between OHSAS 18001 and ISO 45001

The main difference between the two standards is that ISO 45001 adopts a proactive approach that requires risk assessment.

And their correction is before the occurrence of accidents and injuries; Whereas OHSAS 18001 takes a reactive approach that focuses only on risks, not solutions.

These two standards differ in many other ways as well. Here are a few things:

Goals and performance

In ISO 45001, there is an increasing focus on objectives as drivers for improvement and performance evaluation. These goals can be in topics such as worker participation, internal and external communications, and procurement.


The structure of ISO 45001 is based on Annex SL, which is the framework for other ISO management system standards and makes implementation easier and more efficient.

Leadership and management commitment

ISO 45001 requires more emphasis on senior management to actively incorporate health and safety into the organization’s overall management system.

Risk and opportunity management

OHSAS 18001 deals exclusively with hazards, while ISO 45001 identifies risks and opportunities that may disrupt production and takes action to improve and prevent them.

Participation of workers and third parties

ISO 45001 focuses more on the needs and expectations of workers and stakeholders and requires employee training to identify hazards, but OHSAS 18001 does not allow extensive employee involvement.

What benefits do we lose if we do not implement ISO 45001?

It was mentioned above that by not implementing ISO 45001, we lose important opportunities and benefits. Some of these benefits include:

  • Bidding for contracts, especially internationally
  • Encouraging shareholder investment
  • Showing commitment to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
  • Attracting and retaining talent
  • Increasing the health and well-being of the work environment
  • Improving the reputation of the organization
  • Providing a safe workplace free from injury and illness

related post : ISO 9001 , ISO 14001 ,  ISO 13485 , ISO 27001


Climate Change Control

International Manual of Climate Change Control, A Full color guide for all people who wish to take care of climate change.
Special Price for Schools & Libraries (Contact us)

Ship from Vancouver, BC Canada
*By purchasing you agree to the Terms & Conditions